2011 JEA/NSPA National Convention in Minneapolis update
Members of the planning meeting met during the 2010 fall convention in Kansas City. The committee members attending also wore promotional T-shirts and distributed stickers to promote the 2011 convention. The next committee meeting will be in the first two weeks of January. Contact co-chairs Laurie Hansen (HansenL@stillwater.k12.MN.us) or Lori Keekley (Keekley@gmail.com) to get involved or be added to the update list.

Congratulations to Minnesota winners of NSPA Best of Show in Kansas City!
+ Newspaper 9-12 Pages: First Place, Echo, St. Louis Park HS; 10th Place, Ahlahasa, Albert Lea HS
+ Newspaper Special Edition: 7th Place, Ahlahasa, Albert Lea HS
+ Literary Magazine: 4th Place, i-Mag, Ahlahasa, Albert Lea HS
+ Publication Website (Small School): 6th Place, Knight Errant, Benilde St. Margaret’s School; 7th Place, Echo, St. Louis Park HS

Congratulations to Minnesota winners of JEA Write-off Contests in Kansas City!

Newswriting, honorable mention: Kelsey Reid, St. Louis Park HS; Amber Bergland, Albert Lea HS; Bennett Winton, Blake School; Emma Eldred, Benilde-St. Margaret’s School
Editorial Writing, excellent: Alex Kersten, St. Louis Park HS
Sports Writing, honorable mention: Giula Imholte, Benilde-St. Margaret’s School
Editorial Cartooning, excellent: Anissa Nelson, Albert Lea HS
Yearbook Cover/Endsheets, honorable mention: Kaci Mobley, Champlin Park HS

NSPA Members: Contest deadlines approaching
If you are also a member of the National Scholastic Press Association, please note these upcoming deadlines. Forms are available at NSPA’s website: http://www.studentpress.org/nspa/
+ Dec. 3: 2009-10 critiques due
+ Jan. 18: Yearbook, Magazine and Online Pacemaker entries due
+ Feb. 15: NSPA Journalism Honor Roll, Honor Roll Scholarships and Wikoff Scholarships due

Got a suggestion or comment?
As always, if you have questions, comments or suggestions, feel free to let us know. Send an e-mail to logan@studentpress.org.