The 2009 MHSPA State Convention is Oct. 20 at Coffman Memorial Union on the University of Minnesota’s Twin Cities campus. Registration begins at 8 a.m. The day concludes by 2 p.m. Join us to keep the year heading in the right direction!

Jason DeRusha
Jason DeRusha

Our line-up of professional speakers includes professionals who have worked in newsrooms around the nation; members of the faculty at the University of Minnesota’s School of Journalism and Mass Communication; yearbook publishing professionals; and experienced Minnesota media advisers.

Information for the state convention was mailed to MHSPA members and recent members in August. The deadline for the reduced rate of $10 per delegate at the MHSPA State Convention is Oct. 13. After that, rates will increase to $15 per delegate. Non-members pay $20. Registering for the convention obligates your publication to pay for the number of students registered (no refunds, but substitutions are OK). We have some fantastic local journalists lined up, including keynote speaker Jason DeRusha, a reporter for WCCO-TV, who is active on Facebook, Twitter, his blog and Web cam. We’ll also announce the state winners of best publication and the winners of MHSPA Gold Medallions.

Download the registration forms:

2009 State Convention Flyer

2009 State Convention Registration Form