Journalism Educator of the Year

Call for entries

Minnesota High School Press Association is pleased to offer the opportunity to recognize the contributions and excellence of a Minnesota Journalism educator. Any student, colleague, parent or community member may nominate a journalism educator by completing the application and sending the support material. An educator may also self-nominate.

A nominee must be a journalism educator at the high school or middle school level in Minnesota during the 2024-25 school year. Teachers/advisers from all media are eligible ­— newspaper, online, magazine, yearbook or broadcast.

Support material

The nomination packet should include a résumé/vita and one to five letters of support from the nominators.

The nominator should email the complete packet to Gary Lundgren,, on or before the June 21, 2024, deadline.

A panel of journalists and educators will select the recipient. The announcement will be made in May. In addition to a plaque proclaiming the educator’s achievements and recognition of excellence in journalism education, the winner will be recognized at the 2024 Minnesota State Journalism Convention.

Nominations should highlight the candidate’s success in these areas:

  • Teaching/advising experience and ability
  • Background and training as a journalism educator; personal development
  • Promoting a student-centered classroom
  • Relationships with students, parents, administrators and community stakeholders
  • Contributions to the profession
  • Commitment to fostering an appreciation for journalism in society and careers in media
  • Support of the First Amendment



Past winners
of Journalism Educator
of the Year

Rachel Steil
Stillwater Area High School

Anna Reid
The Blake School

Kathryn Campbell
St. Paul Academy and Summit School

Martha Rush
Mounds View High  School

Jason Wallstad
Benilde-St. Margaret’s School

Ryan McCallum
Buffalo High School

Lori Keekley
St. Louis Park High School

Nick Fornicoia
Eastview High School, Apple Valley

Laurie Hansen
Stillwater Area High School